Leflunomide

Started by Smachak, May 17, 2017, 01:38:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smachak

Hello, my dog is trying to get over autoimmune meningitis since last August. Has had several relapses while on prednisone. Tried to add cyclosporine but he got very sick on that.  About the only option left is leflunomide.  Anyone have any experience with this drug? Side effects, how well does it work?  Thank you.

Catherine

Did you try Azathioprine as well? I have no experience of Leflunomide but my AIHA dog did very well on Azathioprine and
Preds.

There have been a few posts about Leflunomide, just put the name in the "search" function on the site.

Smachak

The vet thinks that the leflunomide would have less side effects and be less harsh than the azathioprine.  Maybe because his liver enzymes are already  somewhat elevated from the pred.  Thanks for the tip about searching!

Catherine

Some vets do see Azathioprine as a "baddie", maybe because of elevated liver enzymes. It may not be right for every dog but I found it okay with my dog although she was on the lesser 25mg a day tablet so approximately 1mg per kg daily.

Jo CIMDA

Hi

Leflunomide is being used more these days and I have known dogs to reach remission whilst being treated with leflunomide.   Relapses of SRMA are not uncommon in the first few years of treatment but it usually settles down and long term remission is achieved. 

It is a shame that the preds did not achieve remission.  Steroids are usually very effective with SRMA (steroid responsive meningitis).  Was your dog on a good protocol?  Check it against the one below.  This is an excellent protocol and can confidently be used as a guide.

Jo

Example: Reduction Protocol for prednisolone:
Clinical Immunology of the Dog & Cat , 2nd Edition,  by Michael J Day
Professor Michael DayBSc, BVMS(Hons), PhD, DSc, DiplECVP, FASM, FRCPath, FRCVS