New to CIMDA and would welcome advice on SLO

Started by Sandra, December 30, 2014, 10:10:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sandra

Hello, my name is Sandra and I am new to the CIMDA forum.

I have two whippets; Lizzie who is 8 years old and Dino who is 5. I was introduced to this forum from a lady who works in my local bank. She`s got a dog so we often talk about our dogs and when I mentioned about the problems Dino has been having, so she posted a message on Facebook, of which a link to CIMDA came back.

It all started in February of this year; whilst out on a walk we noticed Dino`s paw bleeding quite bad, a vet walking her dogs kindly stopped to help us as we couldn`t stop the bleeding! At this point we didn`t know what had caused this or where all the blood was coming from. We carried Dino back to the car and went straight to our vets. They confirmed that Dino had split his nail all the way down (hence all the blood) and the nail was removed. We just thought that this was bad luck and focused on caring for Dino. Then 7 weeks later he broke another nail, which had to be removed and then in May a third nail was taken off! The vet advised us that something else may be going on here and that Dino may loose more nails.

Over the months Dino has continued to break/split/loose nails, sometimes they have just sort of fell off and some have been taken off at the vets. To date he only has 4 original nails left and I can tell now which will be the next ones to go. Since February Dino has only been off the lead a couple of times, I`ve stopped him running up the stairs and I try not to let him run around the garden with Lizzie, which is such a shame as he`s a whippet and likes to run!!!!! Only a couple of months ago I let him out in the garden late at night and all of a sudden he was barking and going mad, next thing I know he`s in the kitchen bleeding really bad with 3 nails damaged! Hence another trip up the vets the following morning.