Immune mediated polyneuropathy

Started by KassieandArchie, February 20, 2020, 04:06:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KassieandArchie

Hello, newbie here.

I have had a little look through the current chats and haven't spotted anything about immune mediated polyneuropathy. I understand it's quite unusual and each case varies significantly.

It would be great to hear anyone else's stories if you have a dog with this condition, my boy has just been diagnosed and we will be commencing with treatment next week.

The neurologist has recommended a course of steroids followed by an immunosuppressant. Is anyone else's dogs on similar treatment? Or seen results with an alternative treatment? The nerves affected with Archie are his cranial nerves which I believe is even more unusual.

I look forward to chatting with you!

Thanks, Kassie

Jo CIMDA

Hi Kassie and welcome

I am sorry Archie is unwell.  Polyneuropathy is such a broad  label and it can take form in many different ways. Has the vet narrowed it down to a specific diagnosis?  The most common immune mediated polyneuropathy  in dogs (and it isn't that common) is myasthenia gravis. 

What symptoms does Archie have?

Jo

KassieandArchie

Hi Jo,

Thank you for your message. The diagnosis was from a neurologist after an MRI and CSF tap. He didn't say there was a specific known syndrome for the symptoms Archie has. So we just have the diagnosis of 'immune mediated polyneuropathy affecting the cranial nerves'

The symptoms he has are a head tilt to the left, and paralysis of the left side of his face - doesn't blink his left eye and when he pants the left side of his mouth droops. The rest of his body is unaffected and his QoL is also unaffected so far, but we have been told that this could spread to other cranial nerves which could be fatal.

His muscles were also checked for function and they are normal (although atrophied temporal muscles) so I think that rules out MG

Thanks again, Kassie

Jo CIMDA

Hi Kassie